10 Lakshan Parv 2023: Ten Days of Spiritual Renewal

10 Lakshan Parv 2023
10 Lakshan Parv 2023

Understanding the Essence of Jainism

10 Lakshan Parv 2023: Jainism, one of the world’s oldest religions, holds a unique place in the tapestry of Indian spirituality. Rooted in the principles of non-violence (ahimsa), truth (satya), and non-possessiveness (aparigraha), Jainism offers a profound philosophy of life. Among its numerous festivals and observances, the “10 Lakshan Parv” stands as a significant celebration that encapsulates the core beliefs and practices of Jainism. In this article, we will delve into the essence of Jainism and explore the significance of the 10 Lakshan Parv.

The Foundation of Jainism

Before we delve into the 10 Lakshan Parv 2023, it’s crucial to understand the foundational principles of Jainism. Jainism traces its origins to the teachings of Lord Mahavira, the 24th Tirthankara, who is believed to have lived around 599-527 BCE. Jainism places great emphasis on three key principles:

A Jain temple is the place of worship for Jains, the followers of Jainism. It is such a detailed stonework.
  1. Ahimsa (Non-Violence): Ahimsa is the cornerstone of Jainism. It goes beyond refraining from physical harm and extends to avoiding harm through speech and even thoughts. Jains believe in the sanctity of all life forms, from the tiniest microorganisms to the largest mammals.
  2. Satya (Truthfulness): Jains place a high value on speaking the truth. Truth is seen as an essential virtue that leads to spiritual growth and harmony.
  3. Aparigraha (Non-Possessiveness): Aparigraha is the concept of non-attachment to material possessions. Jains believe that attachment to material possessions leads to greed and suffering.
Landscape view of some of the temples in Palitana situated at the top of Shatrunjaya mountains, Gujarat, India. Here to know, there are more than 800 temples and more than 2500 Statues of Jain Gods and Goddesses. There are about 3500 steps to go up on the top of mountains. Most of Jain peoples climb up till top atleast once in a year.

Also Read: How to Differentiate Between Clay and POP Ganesha Idols: 5 Easy Tips 2023

The 10 Lakshan Parv 2023: Starting from 19 September 2023

The 10 Lakshan Parv 2023, also known as the Das Lakshan Parv, is a significant observance in Jainism. It is a time for Jains to reflect on their spiritual journey and renew their commitment to the ten universal virtues or characteristics that guide their lives. These virtues are:

  1. Uttam Kshama (Supreme Forgiveness): Forgiveness is considered a powerful virtue in Jainism. It is not merely about pardoning others for their mistakes but also letting go of resentment and harboring no ill will.
  2. Uttam Mardava (Supreme Humility): Humility is a hallmark of Jain character. It involves the absence of pride and arrogance, recognizing the equality of all beings.
  3. Uttam Aarjava (Supreme Straightforwardness): Aarjava is the quality of being straightforward, honest, and sincere in one’s conduct and speech.
  4. Uttam Shaucha (Supreme Contentment): Contentment comes from the realization that material possessions do not lead to lasting happiness. Jains strive to be content with what they have.
  5. Uttam Satya (Supreme Truth): Truthfulness is not limited to words but extends to thoughts and actions. Jains aim to live a life of integrity and truth.
  6. Uttam Sanyam (Supreme Control): Sanyam involves self-discipline and control over one’s desires and impulses. Jains practice moderation in all aspects of life.
  7. Uttam Tapa (Supreme Austerities): Austerities are practices of self-purification that include fasting, penance, and other forms of self-discipline to attain spiritual growth.
  8. Uttam Tyaga (Supreme Renunciation): Tyaga is the renunciation of worldly attachments. Jains aspire to detach themselves from material possessions and desires.
  9. Uttam Akinchanya (Supreme Non-Attachment): Akinchanya is the state of complete non-attachment to worldly possessions and desires. It is a state of ultimate spiritual freedom.
  10. Uttam Brahmacharya (Supreme Chastity): Brahmacharya is the practice of celibacy and moderation in sexual behavior. It is a path towards spiritual purity.
10 Lakshan Parv 2023

Significance of 10 Lakshan Parv 2023

The 10 Lakshan Parv 2023 serves as a reminder of these core virtues, encouraging Jains to introspect and strengthen their commitment to these principles. It is a time for self-assessment and renewal of vows, akin to a spiritual New Year’s resolution. During this observance, Jains engage in various rituals and activities to deepen their connection to these virtues.

Rituals and Celebrations

  1. Penance and Fasting: Many Jains observe fasting and penance during the 10 Lakshan Parv 2023 to purify their souls and cultivate self-discipline.
  2. Prayers and Chanting: Jains visit temples, recite sacred texts, and engage in prayers and hymns that emphasize the importance of the ten virtues.
  3. Charity and Acts of Kindness: Jains believe in the practice of dana (charity) and engage in acts of kindness and generosity during this time.
  4. Satsangs (Spiritual Gatherings): Community gatherings and satsangs are organized to discuss and reflect on the significance of the 10 Lakshan Parv.

10 Lakshan Parv 2023

The 10 Lakshan Parv 2023 is a beautiful celebration that encapsulates the essence of Jainism. It serves as a spiritual compass, guiding Jains on the path of righteousness, compassion, and self-realization. Through the observance of this auspicious occasion, Jains reaffirm their commitment to the ten virtues and strive to lead lives marked by purity, humility, and non-violence. In a world often dominated by materialism and conflict, the principles of Jainism, embodied in the 10 Lakshan Parv, offer a timeless message of peace, harmony, and spiritual growth.

Follow US
Follow US


  1. Very well written and summarised.
    Such articles are very helpful for the current online generation also as it captures the essence and importance of the Paryushan parv.

  2. […] 10 Lakshan Parv 2023 Uttama Shaucha: जैन धर्म, जो दुनिया का एक प्राचीन धर्म है, आध्यात्मिक शुद्धि और नैतिक जीवन में महत्वपूर्ण बजाय रखता है। जैन धर्म में एक मौलिक अवधारणा है “उत्तम शौच,” जिसे “उच्च शुद्धता” के रूप में अनुवादित किया जा सकता है। यह अवधारणा धार्मिकता में गहरी जड़ों से बैठी है और “10 लक्षण पर्व” महोत्सव के दौरान मनाई जाती है। इस लेख में, हम “उत्तम शौच” के महत्व में डूबेंगे, भगवान महावीर के जीवन की खोज करेंगे, और 24 तीर्थंकरों के साथ एक यात्रा करेंगे, सभी बीच में एक मानव-मित्र टोन को बनाए रखते हुए। […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here